This is a project I’ve had in mind for a while but with kids and everything, I haven’t really had the time to do a proper prototype.

The objective is, like so many others, to create a temperature logger working on battery for as close to a year as possible pushing data to ThingSpeak. The twist is that I really want to be able to reset and program the prototype without having to go through changing pins and all that, and over time I would like to integrate it with my Christmas present, my Google Home.

Anyways, that’s the long term plan… First things first… 🙂

I’ve had a really hard time finding something I could use online, so now that I’ve managed to dig up what I need I want to share this in the hope that someone finds it useful. And thanks to all the people that shared their projects and findings!

I have already tested the DHT-22 as part of the temperature example project, so I know how to communicate with that, but working with ESP-01 and ESP-12 I found it hard to  to be able to post that data to ThingSpeak.

Now the first prototype is ready. It’s not working on battery yet, as I’m waiting for a 3.3V step-up converter and also need more time, but it do contain the reset and programming buttons as I wanted and sends the data to ThingSpeak.

Hopefully this will after a while grow into the intelligent IoT project I want it to be…

Join me for the first step here… and please comment if you have great ideas on how to optimize power consumption, etc.

